Turn your head and cough…

I got my new tires yesterday and was very pleased that they were so cheap and they put them on fairly quickly… 45 minutes in and out of the tire place. I was a bit concerned that the tire noise that I attributed to my old tires was still there. On my drive home, I gave a call to my mechanic to set up a front end alignment and an overdue oil change. After work this morning, I drive in and dropped it off, getting myself a rental for the day while my car was being worked on. I had a feeling things weren’t right though…

Let’s backtrack for a second… The tire guy said that when they were changing out the tires, he noticed that one of them had a split on the inside about 3-4 inches long right down to the cables. It could have blown at any time. Yay. Just in the nick of time then.

The news was similar that I got from my mechanic Mike. The alignment went ok, as did the oil change, but the tire noise I heard and the strange squeaking/squealing that I was hearing when I was maneuvering in the parking lot, pointed to a much greater problem. The right wheel bearing/hub assembly was in a catastrophic state as was the piece that holds the tire vertical. The left side was much better, but showed great wear. Mike said that it was only a matter of time before my right tire pretty much fell off when I was driving. Right on. Again, caught something that could have been tragic just in the nick of time. I decided to get the full winterizing package with the oil change and they caught a couple other things too… like burnt out bulbs and the fact that my tranny fluid was black. Excellent.

I woke up just before 4pm and called Mike to see how my car was doing. That’s when he kicked me in the nuts over the phone with all this news. Nothing throws off sleep faster than being told that it’s going to cost an entire month’s salary to fix your car to drivable condition. Man. $2250. Yikes. That hurt a little. Hopefully if I swallow enough my nuts will drop back down into my shorts.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Turn your head and cough…

  1. Darryl and Kimberly says:

    Is your car even worth that!!!

  2. Baba says:

    It sure will be after this. 🙂

  3. Allen says:

    muthafucker!!!! that\’s as much as mine cost!!! My balls ache in empathy man!

Leave a Reply

