Ugh… who stuffed my head full of cotton?

My head feels thick. Not sick thick, just thick. It’s a feeling that I haven’t had in a long time. Turns out that it was from too much sleep. Yeah, go figure… me… getting too much sleep. After I got home from poker last night, I went to bed and started to watch A Scanner Darkly. I got about 15 minutes into it before I fell into a coma. I woke up about 4 hours later (still hadn’t moved) just long enough to put my cowon and headphones away, then back to sleep. I finally roll my ass out of bed at 11:25am after a really neat dream about a post-apocalyptic world where there’s limited humans and the rest are zombies. Here’s the rub though… I’m married and have a teen-aged son and daughter. We go out during the day and scavenge for supplies. The city we live in is based on where I lived when I was a kid in Elliot Lake, ON (on Washington Crescent). The zombie virus/strain is constantly mutating. When the zombie outbreak first happened, they were mindless, murderous monsters (ooh… alliteration!). By the end, they were still dead, but had very little else separating them from humans. You could only tell from looking at their fingernails (they looked grey underneath) and their eyes. Right at the end of my dream things turned a bit bizarro (I mean more bizarro). My son is torn in half by some savage old-school zombies (that still roam around at night) when they break in to my house, yet he doesn’t die. My wife is bitten and is slowly turning. A zombie that had befriended me offers to save my son and wife. Where did my daughter go? No frigging clue. I think her contract wasn’t renewed after the pilot episode because she didn’t "pop" with the viewing audience. So far, that isn’t the more bizarro part, that’s still all in keeping with the zombie theme… Here it comes… My dream turns into a bit of a musical number. My son and his zombie buddy are dressing alike in matching cowboy gear (well, my son from the waist up – he was torn in half remember) and they start singing. Thankfully I woke up.

And what do I wake up to… egg-sized snowflakes falling from the betraying sky. It’s like someone broke open a massive feather pillow. It’s falling so thick as I write this that I can barely read the billboard across the street. Haven’t we had enough of this shit? I know that I have. In the past few days, we’ve gotten snow a few times, but fortunately it all went away rather quickly. My friend Allen blames me for this turn in the weather because I got new tires for my car. It’s not my fault… How could it be when this is the first time it’s actually snowed here in Poco (strangely though, it’s snowed all these times in Coquitlam where he lives and he did tease his mother about all the snow she was getting where she lived – I think he’s the one that provoked the gods of snow). Regardless of who is at fault, I just want it to go away and not come back until next January. I mean, c’mon… it’s the end of February. Why is it still snowing? If I wanted snow I’d go up on the mountain where it’s supposed to live. Bah. Oh well, if it sticks around for a day or two I’ll be able to see how my brand spanky tires perform in the snow/slush. As it is, it’s still in the shop and I haven’t heard anything from them today. Hopefully I do before 2:30, or I’m going to have to pay for my rental for another day. I have to work at 4pm out in Maple Ridge and 2:30 is about the latest I’d be able to leave here to drive to where my car is and still make it to work on time. Rush hour traffic starts early here and having to fight my way from the Coquitlam/New Westminster border all the way to Maple Ridge is more than I want to do today. Hell, I don’t even want to go to work. I’d be content to sit around the quiet apartment all day in my PJs, listening to the hum of my computer and eating soup.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Ugh… who stuffed my head full of cotton?

  1. Darryl and Kimberly says:

    Good dream!!!  Mark the DAD!!!!

  2. Allen says:

    First, a little dream analysis…"When the
    zombie outbreak first happened, they were mindless, murderous monsters
    (ooh… alliteration!). By the end, they were still dead, but had very
    little else separating them from humans."Have you considered that rather than the zombies becoming more human, you became more zombie? Could be a metaphor about assimilation and you contempt for society as whole, and your resentment or fear of having to be a part of it."My son and
    his zombie buddy are dressing alike in matching cowboy gear (well, my
    son from the waist up – he was torn in half remember) and they start
    singing."Dude, your son is gay! GAY! GAY! GAY! And for that you have emasculated him, ensuring that he can never be a sodomite! I had no idea you were so uncomfortable with the gays! LOLNo need to thank me, my bill is in the mail :o)Now to the snow… Look, the sooner you admit that you are responsible for it the sooner this debate will end; you tempted nature\’s wrath by buying those damned tires and the rest of us are paying the price in snow! I will be chronicling this in my new book "The End Is Nigh… and it\’s all Mark\’s fault!" (http://allenin.spaces.live.com/blog/cns!64F0764A9B49F864!820.entry) about how your lifestyle and choices impact out enviroment. I am thinking about getting Al Gore to co-author it with me; now that he has an Oscar he is more bankable. heh heh. I hope you get car back soon… maybe once the rubber touches a little snow it will show mercy to the rest of us! :o)Hope your shift doesn\’t totally suck and goes by quickly and painlessly!

Leave a Reply

