Good Dental Hygiene…

When I was about 9 or 10 I went grocery shopping with my mom and my older sister, Joyce. We’re just wrapping up our shopping when we pass by all the toothbrushes. My sister was getting one, so I wanted one too. I spent quite a bit of time there, poring over each one, trying to find the right balance of color and bristle softness (back then you didn’t have the fun, character toothbrushes, about the only variation was color). I settle on a nice fire engine red one and bring it over to the cart. My sister, who had just grabbed hers at random it seemed, told me that I couldn’t get that one because she had already chosen a red one.
"But it’s fire engine red. I like fire engines," said I.
"Get a green one."
I was on the brink of tears as I walked back to the toothbrush rack. I put my awesome red toothbrush back and tried to find a light green one. Her suggestion started to grow on me as I was looking. Our town had recently gotten a brand new fire truck and it was sort of a lime green color. That’d be perfect. I’d still have a toothbrush the color of a fire engine. I was happy again and put my new toothbrush in the cart.
Two months later…
I’m getting my ass ready for school and I go to brush my teeth. I notice that my toothbrush is already wet. I say, "What the hell?" Ok… probably didn’t say that at 9 or 10. Probably something more along the lines of "what the hey" or "what gives" or "what the heck". Pretty sure "What" was in there though. My sister walks in and sees me holding the green toothbrush.
"What are you doing with my toothbrush?" she says.
"Yours? You have the red one! You made me go get a green one!"
"No, the red one was yours because you were crying about it."
Excellent. Just what a boy of 9 or 10 wants to hear… That he’s been, for all intents and purposes, french kissing his own sister every day for the past two months.
Come to think of it, with Joyce at 12 or 13, it probably would have been worse for her. Hehehe…
To this day, I don’t know who ended up keeping the green toothbrush and who started using the red one.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Good Dental Hygiene…

  1. Allen says:

    there is actually a little bit of sick at the back of my throat… ew! Ew! EW!

  2. Joyce and Rob says:

    Well, now… isn\’t that interesting… yet ANOTHER one of my blocked childhood memories being thrust upon me like some weird, nightmarish deja-vu… except that i don\’t remember it happening the first time! That must be why i get soooo grossed out at the thought of my husband using MY toothbrush! He doesn\’t think there\’s a problem with that, cuz we like… kiss… and stuff like that! EWWW! Now i know why!! I\’ve had little brother cooties all this time (yes, Mark, once upon a time, you WERE littler than me!).

Leave a Reply

