When life gives you lemons…

I would like to know how some companies test their products, especially scents/flavors of certain things. Do they use real people? Is the new fragrance sampled by robotic noses and quantified as “smelling” springtime fresh? What’s bringing this up is oven cleaner. Someone was kind enough to spray the oven at work with it, to be cleaned on my shift. Awesome. They missed a huge section though, so I used up what was left in the can and sprayed liberally. Despite what it has on the label, I, in no way, shape, or form, could smell lemons in that caustic fog that seared my lungs and set me to coughing. Did they measure the scent of this product on some different, grander scale? Is it, in fact, more lemony than a previous version of oven cleaner? Are they measuring scent molecules in parts per million? Why did they go with lemon (or the assumption of lemon)?

This is not the first time that I’ve encountered this ‘lemoning’ of a product that I’m going to have to take the word of the manufacturer that it was, indeed, lemon-flavored. I had a liquid medication that proudly proclaimed on the box that it had a new and improved lemon taste. It tasted nothing at all like lemon.

Wait… I just had a thought…

Is “lemon” business slang for dead donkey’s butthole?

image

Lemon???

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

