This is a recipe for disaster… Tasty, tasty disaster. Or pie. One of those. I get confused sometimes.

PhotoGrid_1356425932175Denise came over Sunday night (finally healthy enough) and we exchanged Christmas presents, did some baking, and went out for soup. I also got my birthday presents. Smile

I got a gift certificate to the gun range that we went to before, so that should be fun. I’m going to try having the target a bit farther away next time to see how my accuracy suffers. Heh.

As you can see from the picture, I am the proud owner of three new cookbooks. So many tasty looking treats in there and, for the most part, look fairly easy to make. At least the recipes that I was looking at in the one book. I’m sure the Barefoot Contessa cookbook is going to have slightly fancier recipes (like lobster meat pizza bites or something). Smile Can’t wait to sit down to go through them and mark a few recipes to try first. There was one picture on the back of the Holiday cookbook that I think I’ll try first. It’s a bacon and cheddar bread thing that you make in a bundt pan. Looks delicious.

We were going to go get some duck lettuce wrap as my birthday dinner, but the baking we were doing kind of got in the way of all that. I started my Christmas baking Sunday morning, making butter tarts, a couple of types of squares and some fudge. When Denise came over, we were going to try making egg tarts. I found a well-reviewed recipe for them online and it seemed easy enough (even if it was a pain in the butt straining the mixture every other step). I should have gone with my gut instead of following the recipe explicitly. It called for the tarts to bake at 450 for 15-20 minutes. I usually do my butter tarts at 350 for 15-20 minutes to get a nice golden brown crust. Yeah… way too hot of an oven. My parchment paper was blackened and the crust was way too dark (burnt in a couple of places). We ended up throwing out the entire first batch (2 dozen). There was enough egg filling left to do up another 2 dozen, so I dropped the oven to 350 and things seemed to work out ok. Just need to hear back from Denise about what her mom thought of the flavor/texture. She finds my other Christmas baking too sweet. Smile

We ended up going for soup twice on Sunday. Smile Once for a late lunch and the second time to my new favorite 24 hour pho place. Their shredded pork rolls are simply awesome.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

